nctcog logo
transportation label




nctcog logo


Proposition 1 Funding, Long-Range Planning Efforts to be
Reviewed Sept. 8-14

North Texans can provide input on recommendations
at public meetings and online

Aug. 31, 2015 (Arlington, Texas) – Proposition 1 funding recommendations and the development of Mobility 2040 will be discussed during public meetings on Sept. 8 in Denton, Sept. 9 in Arlington and Sept. 14 in Irving.

In November 2014 Texas voters approved Proposition 1, a constitutional amendment that provides state funding for the construction, maintenance and rehabilitation of public roadways in Texas (toll roads and transit projects are not eligible). In Fiscal Year 2015, the Dallas-Fort Worth area received $367.63 million for projects to go to construction in 2015. At public meetings, staff will recommend projects to receive funding in Fiscal Year 2016 and Fiscal Year 2017, when $268.1 million and $263.91 million will be available, respectively. This is a significant step toward meeting the unmet roadway funding needs in Texas, and input from the public is important.

In addition to coordinating funding efforts, NCTCOG is required to maintain a long-range transportation plan that defines a blueprint for the region’s multimodal transportation system and guides expenditures of local, state and federal transportation funds. This long-range plan must have a time horizon of at least 20 years. Staff are developing Mobility 2040, the next long-range transportation plan, and will present a summary of feedback received to date from both the public and Regional Transportation Council and seek additional input in order to guide the development of plan recommendations.

Finally, staff will outline projects recommended to receive Federal Transit Administration funding through the Fiscal Year 2016 Urbanized Area Formula Program. The following agencies’ programs of projects will be presented:

    • City of Arlington/Handitran
    • City of Grand Prairie/Grand Connection
    • City of Mesquite/MTED
    • City/County Transportation
    • Community Transit Services (CTS)
    • Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)
    • Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA)
    • Fort Worth Transportation Authority (FWTA)
    • North Central Texas Council of Governments
    • Northeast Transportation Service (NETS)
    • Public Transit Services (PTS)
    • Special Programs for Aging Needs (SPAN)
    • STAR Transit
    • Texoma Area Paratransit System (TAPS)

In addition to the Urbanized Area Formula Program, proposed transit projects funded through FTA’s FY 2016 Bus and Bus Facilities, Enhanced Mobility for Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities and State of Good Repair Programs will be presented for public comment.

Proposed Modifications to the List of Funded Projects, Clean Fleets North Texas Call for Projects, the National Drive Electric Week Event and Future of Transportation and Water: Smarter Regions, Shared Outcomes will also be highlighted at the meetings.

Following the meeting on Sept. 9, a video recording of the discussion will be posted at

Public Meeting Details

Tuesday, Sept. 8
6:30 p.m.
DCTA Downtown
Denton Transit Center
604 E. Hickory St.
Denton, TX 76205

Wednesday, Sept. 9
2:30 p.m.
North Central Texas
Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

Monday, Sept. 14
6:30 p.m.
Irving City Hall
825 W. Irving Blvd.
Irving, TX 75060


About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit


      About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers.



Amanda Wilson (817) 695-9284

# # #


4/24/2018  03/17/2009 JS

Find Us on Facebook  Follow Us on Twitter  Tubin with the COG Trans  Grammin with CogTrans
 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Main Operator: (817) 640-3300 | Fax: (817) 640-7806